News | April 07, 2017

College of Arts and SciencesCollege of BusinessCollege of EducationCollege of EngineeringEagle-SpottingLearning

Outstanding seniors inducted into Hall of Fame

Ten graduating seniors were inducted into the Florida Gulf Coast University Hall of Fame on Thursday, April 6 — the highest recognition given to distinguished students at FGCU.

“The Hall of Fame is reserved for students who have demonstrated superior leadership, integrity and achievement through their activities, service, scholarship and academic excellence,” said Vice President for Student Affairs J. Michael Rollo. “These students have had an exceptional impact on our campus and distinguished themselves as leaders among our many other outstanding students.”

A committee of faculty, students and alumni reviews nominations and selects up to 10 honorees each spring. The 2017 inductees are pictured below left to right with President Wilson G. Bradshaw, Dean of Students Michele Yovanovich and Rollo. Highlights of their achievements (click on names to watch nomination videos):

  • Jordan Blankenship of Estero (Art, with Digital Design minor): Honors College; Arts Exploration Club president; National Council on Education for the Ceramic Arts member; Seidler Grant for Research recipient; intern and volunteer for Empty Bowls fundraiser to combat hunger.
  • Emmalyn Green of Wellington (Political Science, with Education minor): Honors College senator; Student Government vice president; mentor for Honors, Athletics and Center for Academic Achievement; 2015 Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellow in recognition of community engagement.
  • Caroline Haney of Key Largo (Communications with concentration in Public Relations, Marketing minor): Honors College; Resident assistant; Student Government; Florida Public Relations Association – FGCU Student Chapter president; completed three internships.
  • Andrea Jarquin of Miami (Communication, Sociology): Honors College; Eagle View Orientation team leader; resident assistant and resident life team assistant; teaching assistant; president of Students Interested in Student Affairs.
  • Nyasia Jenkins of Utica, N.Y. (Health Science): Honors College senator; resident assistant; Eagle View Orientation leader; Service-Learning Ambassador; Phi Eta Sigma National Honor Society chapter president; Public Health Student Association vice president.
  • Nora Johnson of Naples (Finance): Honors College mentor; FGCU Athletics marketing intern; University Ambassador Program student director; FGCU St. Baldrick’s Day director of community outreach; published and presented research at National Conference on Undergraduate Research.
  • Sara Lohbauer of Anthony (Biology, with Chemistry minor): Honors College senator; co-founded FGCU Cancer Research Program, which provides research, advocacy, fundraising and service opportunities; published and presented cancer research at national conferences.
  • Paul Olivera of Campeche, Mexico (Finance): Established and raised funds for an endowed scholarship honoring his late sister, an FGCU alumna; Student Government; Emerging Eagles; Rotaract Club.
  • Logan Schulz of Bradenton (Philosophy with Chemistry and Biology minors): Honors College; Sigma Chi fraternity president; International Ambassador; Global Medical Brigades; volunteer in Nicaragua.
  • Sarah Stauring of Naples (Biology): Honors College mentor; University Ambassador; active in Recyclemania, Eagles Earth Day and Green the Greeks sustainability programs.
    2017 FGCU Hall of Fame honorees Jordan Blankenship, Emmalyn Green, Caroline Haney, Andrea Jarquin, Nyasia Jenkins, Nora Johnson, Sara Lohbauer, Paul Olivera, Logan Schulz, Sarah Stauring with President Wilson G. Bradshaw, Dean of Students Michele Yovanovich and Vice President for Student Affairs J. Michael Rollo.